Wakefieldhorizontal
CATALOG FORTHCOMING SERIES AUTHORS ORDERING CONTACT T-SHIRTS
Mist2

THE CATHEDRAL OF MIST
By Paul Willems
Translated, with an introduction, by Edward Gauvin
Illustrations by Bette Burgoyne

First published in French in 1983, The Cathedral of Mist is a collection of short stories from the last of the great Francophone Belgian fantasists, distilled tales of distant journeys, buried memories, and impossible architecture. Described here are the emotionally disturbed architectural plan for a palace of emptiness; the experience of snowfall in a bed in the middle of a Finnish forest; the memory chambers that fuel the marvelous futility of the endeavor to write; and the beautiful woodland church, built of warm air currents and fog, scattering in storms and taking renewed shape at dusk, that gives this book its title. The Cathedral of Mist offers the sort of ethereal narratives that might have come from the pen of a sorrowful, distinctly Belgian Italo Calvino. It is accompanied by two meditative essays on reading and writing that fall in the tradition of Marcel Proust and Julien Gracq.

Paul Willems (1912–1997) published his first novel, Everything Here is Real, in 1941. Three more novels and, toward the end of his life, two collections of short stories bracketed his career as a playwright.

July 2016
4.5 x 7, 128 pp.
$12.95 US
978-1-939663-18-4

BigDrop3

Press

“The pieces in The Cathedral of Mist are beautifully crafted, and very evocative, taking unusual turns with a natural ease that separates Willems from writers who much more willfully embrace the strange.”
—M. A. Orthofer, The Complete Review

“Simply breathtaking.”
—Monica Carter, Three Percent

AUTHORS